Permanant Make Up – Lips

So it seems I can’t say no to a freebie! After having my eyeliner tattooed not long ago, I swore I’d never do anything like that again and now I’m sitting here the morning after the night before with tingly lips and a kendall Jenner pout, shouting at myself to not pick the scabs which have appeared all ready!  Oh and I really want a cup of tea but I have to drink from a straw and tea through a straw just doesn’t taste the same! I also couldn’t face dinner last night so HAD to eat Malteasers  so I didn’t starve to death ;p.

I was going to the Nouveau Training Academy for my tattoo! The trainees would be doing my treatment, which is quite scary, however I was hoping they’d be confident, then I will be! Their website is here if you’re interested in training or becoming a model.

Before Treatment, 1pm

An hour before my treatment It was time to pop on the numbing the cream the Nouveau Training clinic sent me, this then had to be applied every 15 minutes prior to the tattoo! I also took a few sneaky painkillers which would hopefully kick in by the time the treatment started!

2015-08-08_09.38.36

Treatment Time, 2pm

Now I knew this was going to hurt, I’d heard it hurts way more than having your eyeliner done but I’m sure It won’t be as terrifying as staring at a needle millimeters from my iris! I was welcomed into the clinic where I was met by one of the trainers who popped more numbing cream on me and placed a sheet of plasticy stuff which makes the lips warm and helps the cream to work more effectively apparently!

The trainee then introduced herself and matched my lip colour to their colours to create a base. She then asked me if I wanted to change  the shape of my lips or just enhance them, to which I replied I wanted to enhance them. I quite like the shape of my top lip, my bottom one Isn’t quite as defined though. Whilst analysing my lips the trainer noticed 2 tiny pimples just on the edge of my bottom lip… who gets that? I didn’t have any spots when I was a teenager… In my 20’s I’m covered in the evil things!!! 😦 They discussed how they couldn’t go through them so they would get as close as they could but there may be a tiny gap where the pimples are, bad timing for spots Grrr! Then it was time to dicuss the colour I wanted, I like to wear neautral shades however  they persuaded me to go for a colour as I quote ‘what’s the point in going through all that pain if you can’t notice a difference’. Thanks ladies… now I don’t feel nervous at all ;p. They also said how the colour fades significantly so picking a bright colour won’t mean it will stay bright! In the end I went for a browny reddy tone, I can’t remember the name of the tone I chose.

This treatment was for lip liner aswell as ‘blush’ (the lip colour blended throughout the lips). Years ago my mum had lip liner tattooed and she told me how painful it was so I was preparing myself for a toe curling experience.

With my lips feeling very weird it was time to start the lip liner, one of the other trainees models hadn’t turn up so I was now having 2 people working on me… not such a bad thing I didn’t think! It was time to use a pencil to outline my lips and create a guide to work with, the girls were very precise and totally ocd… which Is good to see they don’t have the ‘that will do’ attitude! I then led down and the lip liner was tattooed on.

I hate that noise! That tattoo pen is scary, it also sounds like a dentist drill! Ouchies! Yup that hurt, surely they put enough numbing cream on…jeeeeeez! Then It was on to some circle technique they kept talking about, that actually wasn’t too bad, then lastly It was what one of the trainers called ‘crazy lips’… just to put you at ease! This is where they blend all the together together and get rid of all the gaps! The girls were fab!! They were confident which put me at ease and made me feel confident they were doing a great job!

Finally they were done, towards the end of the treatment it was more painful when they wiped my lips with a wipe then the actual tattooing, I was glad it was over!

The Grand Unvailing

OH MY G…… the mirror was pointed at me as I sat up too quickly coming over a bit dizzy! Hmm actually I quite like them! They look super symmetrical, very pouty and swollen, however the swelling will come down over time and the colour is lovely!

I was really impressed with the girls professionalism and confidence and impressed by my great colour choice :p.. I was then given an after care advice sheet and some healing balm to pop on my lips 4 times a day with a cotton bud. This is the same balm I used for my eyes and it really helped, but stank of eucalyptus or whatever it was. They had added some of the colour to the balm to create a lipgloss for me which was lovely. She popped some on and off I went, feeling shaky and swollen!

2015-08-08_09.34.21

Home Time

The treatment lasted over 2 hours and as I shouted (tight lipped) up to the girls and hubby, they couldn’t wait to have a look…. they had strange looks on their faces :p much like the one my daughter made when I went from dark hair to bleach blonde! I reassured them they wouldn’t look this puffy soon and the colour won’t stay so bright! The hubby kept laughing as I was finding it difficult to smile and I was so thirsty but finding it difficult to drink through a straw as it was such a strange sensation  and slightly stingy!

No Friday night glass of wine or dinner for me!

2015-08-07_22.59.46

The morning after

I awoke feeling pretty much the same as last night however I could feel the scabs starting to form and they felt gross, I really want to pick them but I knew If I do the colour will come off! Haven’t had a drink yet but when I purse my lips together they still feel tingly. Looking in the mirror they look scabby around the edges and still swollen and once again the Mr is finding it amusing that I can’t laugh or smile well! I am however thinking of becoming a ventriloquist as I’m pretty good at it!

Would You Recommend It?

I really would! Be prepared for pain… which Is bearable but still be prepared and you just might think It’s not as bad as everyone says… like childbirth ;p well that was the case for me! I would say really study the portfolio of whoever Is doing your treatment and check their credentials! I would reccomened one of the Nouveau girls any day, the teaching I’ve seen was fab and the girls are so professional!

If you’ve ever had this treatment done or any other permanant make up procedure done what did you think? Or are you thinking about having it done and I’ve persuaded you… put you off? To read about my eyeliner experience have a look here.

Come back soon and I’ll upload more progress pics!

Click here for my update 10 days on 🙂

2015-08-07_18.04.04

2015-08-07_18.05.07

image

11 thoughts on “Permanant Make Up – Lips

Leave a Reply

