My #1 Fake Tan Product

I Have been Fake tanning for a loooong time, I’ve been orange and patchy and mistaken for a different race but I think I’ve finally mastered it (I’m sure some would think not)! My love affair with being tanned started with having spray tans, now I have very fair skin (secretly) so I used to look terrible, I’d always want them in the summer but by the time I’d had one, popped my clothes back on, walked to the car in the midst of the summer heat, driven home, went to bed and woken up to have a shower excited for my results……. half of it wouldn’t have taken, as it had been rubbed off and the other half that had, looked like dirt and usually resided on my feet or other areas… and yes I exfoliated and moisturised the night before blah blah blah… So I think we can establish why I stopped standing in a booth naked with a dinner lady hat on being sprayed by a pretty beauty therapist.

Next my love for Sun Beds came alive…. I found them so relaxing and quite often would nod off and be rudely awoken as the warm tubular lamps turned off suddenly. Sunbeds however dried my skin out so badly, no matter how much I moisturised and I gained a mole……. which luckily was nothing to worry about… but it scared me in to stopping using them!

Next It was time to try mist spray myself…but what a mess they were!! Finally I tried fake tan mousse, from £25 bottles to £3 bottles…. but no matter which ones I tried…. St Moriz Instant Self Tanning Mousse, one of the cheapest products out there, always came out on top!

IMG_20150717_170647

I have seen this product as cheap as £2.75  in some shops, here’s a link to buy it from Boots for £4.99. It comes in two different shades, Medium and Dark, I can’t say there’s much of a difference between shades but obviously the fairer your skin is the lighter the shade you should use for a more natural result!

Now after years of using this mousse I’ll tell you how I get the best results!

2015-07-08_11.51.33

Step One-Prep

Exfoliate and shave in the shower/bath, the results are sooo much better if you prep your skin beforehand. Next I rub Vaseline into my knees, ankles, toes, elbows, wrists and knuckles, this stops it drying darker on the dryer areas. Now I use a moisturiser all over (whilst wearing gloves)… for extra colour I use one with a gradual tanning in it too 😉

Step Two- Slap It On

I usually pop a tiny bit more Vaseline in those dry areas again, then using a Mit over the top of gloves I quickly sweep the tan all over my body, except the palms of my hands and bottoms of my feet obviously 😉 It is so important to use a mit, without this it looks patchy and uneven, also don’t press too hard with the mit, you want the product to look natural. Soooo…. what about that awkward triangle in the middle of your back your wondering??

Now I’m pretty sure they’ve invented a device to help you out now but I don’t to buy one because…

IMG_20150717_170856

That’s right…. I have a spatula…. and loom bands!!! Talk about good improvisation! I just pop the mit on it and secure it with loom bands my daughter made me…. because I had no rubber bands! And Viola! Don’t worry I don’t use it for food anymore!! 🙂

Now why do I love St Moriz over other fake tan products?

It is instant!

It lasts longer and fades evenly then most I’ve used!

It isn’t orange!

It’s cheap!

🙂

So what’s your favourite fake tan product? Or if you’ve used this one… what do you think?

(I have not been sponsored to write about this product)

wpid-signiture.png

13 thoughts on “My #1 Fake Tan Product

  1. I have honestly never tried one ive been too worried about streaking or looking orange or too dark to suit me :/…..i love your spatula improvisation 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great idea to use the spatula! HAHA! I will have to try this! I have a lot of parties and stuff coming up for my wedding and have been looking for a good yet affordable self tanner!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

